A Guide to the Rafting World Championships

Since the 1950s, rafting as leisure has been a popular sport. Many people want to engage in this activity. People spend their holidays kayaking in various rivers. They also make sure they develop rafting skills that enable them to compete at world championship events. If you are planning to go for a rafting competition, here are the essential things you need to understand.

World Rafting Competition Began With the Canoe Sprint

The first world championship for the ICF canoe sprint event was organised in Vaxholm, Sweden. This championship was held on the outskirts of Stockholm in 1938. Rafters participated in three men’s rafting events. They were categorised into (C1, C2, C3). All competitors had to cover over 1000m in these canoe sprints.

Sweden and Germany dominated the medal charts. During that world championship period, there were 12 gold medals won. Germany team won not less than four golds, while Sweden took home five gold medals. Rafters had to take a break for ten years, and this was as a result of World War II.

Canoe Slalom

In 1949, this competition was held in Geneva, Switzerland. The Men’s C2 and C1 each had two sporting events. It involved the individual and team races. These events have been held annually since 2002. They only change in the Olympic years.

Paralympic Disciplines and Non-Olympic

In addition to slalom, para canoe, and canoe sprint, the rafting championship federation governs six new disciplines, such as follows:

  • Dragon Boat Racing
  • Canoe Marathon
  • Wildwater Sprint
  • Canoe Polo
  • Canoe Freestyle

People have been competing in these rafting world championships over the years. The winners are awarded gold, silver, and bronze medals, among other prizes. During these rafting events, the participants are assisted by river guides. The guides play a crucial role in promoting rafting sports. They also protect the environment provided for these competitions. You can only excel in rafting if you seek help from a river guide.